ECON 101

If You Are Tired of Name-Calling: Hate Mail of the Day

By Tisha Casida

After reading hate-mail by readers, it is inspiring to read an essay to remind me (and us) about what this is all about.  I found it on Michelle Malkin’s site, HERE, the essay is by Keli Carender, and you can find her blog HERE.  The Tea Party (and liberty movements as such) is about why we are FREE in the first place, and has NOTHING to do with what political party you are affiliated with or what types of services you believe in – it is about THE CONSTITUTION – period.  So stop hating people.

This was part of the email that I received, from the reader of another magazine that I publish, called That’s Natural!, who seems to think that you cannot love the free-market and want to find new energy sources at the same time (that’s too bad since that is the ONLY way it would work).  MY RESPONSES ARE IN BOLD TYPE…..

READER SAID: When I opened your e-newsletter today, I found the ‘Good American Post’, Clifton Casida’s ‘Patriotic’ piece featuring Glen Beck, the GOOOH movement, and your recommended reading list very strangely confusing and in contrast to your otherwise valuable messages. Of course you have the right to voice your opinion on so-called patriotic and governmental subjects, but I find it disturbingly distracting embedded in your publication. Maybe that’s your intent.

TISHA’S RESPONSE: I support ALL small businesses and organizations because I love this Country and I love the free-market, where it takes everyone making purchasing decisions to affect change.

Reader Said: My message to you is that in my opinion, Glenn Beck, Sarah Palin, Fox News, Libertarians, tea party advocates etc. are some of the most ill-advised, self-serving, confused and un-sustainable political elements in our country at the moment and whatever you think of this ‘movement’,  it’s a quite different message to your usual sustainability audience. 

TISHA’S RESPONSE: : I very much respect your opinion; on that note of opinion,  I am pro-Constitution, pro-Free-market, and pro-America, so sometimes the people and organizations you have identified are a part of those concepts that I love.

Reader Said: So, you are lucky to have freedom of speech and can publish most anything, but your conflicting message of sustainability and something called ‘Liberty’ defeat one another and has caused me to exercise my right to consider unsubscribing—I’m sorry to say.

TISHA’S RESPONSE: That is the beauty of Freedom of Speech!  Some people really like the thought that Liberty and Sustainability are the same thing!  🙂

Ah, the rancor that keeps a gal going.  To Liberty!

Leave a comment